Testimonials

Read the comments below posted on sites such as Trip Advisor from satisfied customers of The Kings Arms…

The room was fantastic & the staff were very friendly yet professional from checking-in through to leaving !!! We would happily recommend the hotel to our friends & family without fail.

Fantastic stay – Stayed December 2016

Very friendly staff, amazing food, cosy and we could bring our dog. I’ll be coming back soon and can thoroughly recommend to everyone. Thank you!

Great – Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

A fun, unique stay. Staying here was definitely different than any of the other hotels or B&B’s we’ve been to. It is a neat old building (serving WONDERFUL food) and it served our purposes nicely. We stayed in one of the separate “stables” rooms which was very spacious and comfortable. The location is great both for walking around Stow and for hiking around to the Slaughters or Bourton.

Comfortable, unique stay – Stayed November 2016

We popped in here for a bite of lunch on the way through Stow and were immediately struck by the really great atmosphere. The pub was busy but the staff were extremely friendly and helped us find a table where we could keep our Border Terrier under tight control! Lunch was really tasty and a lovely pint to wash it down! Spot on!

Great vibe – 5/5 Visited March 2015

We stayed for one night only as we had been attending a wedding, we booked in at just before 11.00pm we parked right outside the hotel and the car stayed there until we left Stow around midday on the Sunday morning, we were given a warm welcome on arrival, and we were allocated room 9 named the Desert Orchid room, we were aware of the steep stairs to our room, but that didn’t bother us at all, you must remember that this hotel is 500 hundred years old and these sort of things all add to the atmosphere of the place, my husband is nearly seventy and there was no problem getting to our room which we were very happy with, it was lovely and clean, with a king size bed and a window seat that looked out over the market square, we popped down to the bar for a late night drink and then went back to our room, next morning we went down to the restaurant for our breakfast, my husband liked this room very much, we helped ourselves to toast and fruit juice, there was also a selection of cereals, and yoghurt, not long after we had sat down we were asked if we would like coffee or tea, which was quickly delivered.

We were then asked what we would like for breakfast, again we didn’t have to wait long, it was bought to our table piping hot and it was one of the best full English breakfasts that we have had, after that, a quick walk around Stow and it was time to depart, the staff were very pleasant, we were very glad we stayed here and would stay again.

Lovely Stay – 4/5 Stayed July 2014, travelled with family

We arrived in the evening when we were greeted by a female member of staff, she was extremely helpful and given my height offered to move myself and my partner into a room which would be more accommodating. We were moved into the Cottage suite which was absolutely amazing, the layout was greatly planned with the bed being upstairs on a kind of balcony setting and downstairs being a lounge and bathroom. The breakfast was also of a very high standard with staff being professional and the food also being the same.

A Great Place to Stay – 5/5 Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple

My wife booked us for a three night stay at the Kings Arms as an anniversary surprise and we were not disappointed by the experience. All staff were friendly and we were lucky enough to stay in the Desert Orchid room on the top floor…yes the stairs are interesting but that makes it more an experience – you cannot stay in as old a building without it being “interesting”-you cannot say the same for a “clinical ” modern building! The room was superb with a good view out across the market square . The location made it a good base to explore out into the surrounding towns

We dined in on both nights and were treated to a feast of very high quality and tasty meals .We had both evening meals in the main bar area and found everyone friendly and helpful with a very good table service for a busy evening. Our second meal was the “pie and pint ” night-totally not what we expected for a bar meal – proper meaty pies full of taste of restaurant quality.Having been lucky enough to have stayed at some more “high class” establishments i can honestly say the food here beats them hands down. Breakfst was of as high a standard as the evening meals .. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon is superb and the full english is one of the best!-especially as it uses local produce.

Our overall vist made our twenty fifth anniversary a memorable one…our thanks to all staff involved.We will definitly be back.

Surprise Anniversary – 5/5 Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

We arrived without a booking frantically looking for a suitable b&b for one night in Stow on the Wold. Were feeling quite discouraged till we chanced upon the Kings Arms around almost 7pm. John took our booking and was most helpful and welcoming. We were told about the steep stairs but being adequately fit we took the chance and lugged our bags up… we had two double rooms 8 and 11.

Extremely clean, luxurious and quaint… my room 11 was beautiful and looked out onto the main square. The windows had a warning notice [being over 500 years old there was a risk of them falling off if opened…I found that very charming!] and although fully carpeted the floor boards had a muffled creak and at various places sloped quite alarmingly…wonderful! The large pedestal fan was very welcoming …
Breakfast is served in the 1st floor restaurant – again, charmingly decorated with unusual chairs and pretty artefacts. We were served by the very friendly and charming Kim who went out of her way to print out maps and directions for the next leg of our journey – very much appreciated! A delicious hot English breakfast with an array of cereals, fruits, along with marmite and peanut butter… excellent choices and plentiful.

Although it is in the centre of the bustling square the noise or lights do not intrude into the rooms and I would heartily recommend this lovely old inn in the heart of Stow.

A lovely jewel in the centre of Stow – 5/5 Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends

Left our home town at lunchtime yesterday with the intention of just finding ”somewhere to stay” in the Cotswold’s. Ended up at the Kings Arms hotel in Stow on the Wold and we were not disappointed.

We stayed in room 9 the Desert Orchid room and it was lovely. Staff were very friendly and the regular locals were also really nice people. Breakfast too was really good and this took place in the quirky restaurant on the first floor.

All in all a great time was had and I would thoroughly recommend The Kings Arms Hotel for anybody looking for accommodation in Stow.

Last minute booking – 5/5 Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

What a lovely, experience. The staff namely “Maisy” was delightful. Nothing was too much to ask for. I requested that I order an item from the starter menu and it be turned into a main meal. Not a problem! I got exactly what I asked for! Maisy topped my wine up for me and was totally attentive! My husbands steak was exactly as he asked, medium rare cooked to perfection and he is hard to please for sure! This is a jewel of a pub/restaurant in the Quaintest of english towns. Be sure to eat here, its just lovely.

Well done Kings Arms your obviously employing the right people and doing yourselves proud!

We didn’t stay, we just called in for dinner. – 5/5 May 2014, travelled as a couple

Walking around Stow on the Wold, looking for a dog friendly place to et- we started here and didn’t leave. Despite reading a different review about how/not dog friendly this place is, we found it really welcoming and sat in a lovely horse-shoe area and had dinner. We had various starters and main meals. The food was hearty pub food with good service and timings for food were very good, despite the tables being busy. On a old weekend, it hit the spot. Plenty of people dropped in for a drink at the bar, reading weekend papers and relaxing in the bar. Good option for hungry travellers with busy but welcoming staff. The staff had some difficult customers when we were there but it didn’t dampen their welcome for the rest of us- well done!

We will be back!!!

Warm welcome even for dogs – 5/5 Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

My visit to the Kings Arms was a quick over-nighter between destinations around the Cotswold. From the moment I stepped over the threshold Lou and her team were extremely welcoming and could see I’d had a long day in the brisk May weather and offered to dry my jacket and a beverage of choice? A refreshing pint of one of the House Ales eased my pain. The downstairs was a pleasant, warm, relaxing public house with a mixture of young and old customers who talked about the days/weeks activities and even let a complete stranger join in on the conversation of “will we ever have a proper summer and win the world cup?” Really nice crowd of locals.

After a few more pints I decided to order food, I went for the sheppards pie which came out with a side bowl of seasonal vegetables, I really like LOTS of gravy with vegetables and without questioning the waitress ran back to the kitchen and brought out a separate pot of gravy (which was home made not instant – yummy) this really hit the spot and reminded me of home cooking.

The room it self was clean, well presented and really warm considering one wall was a Cotswold stone external wall, all bedding really soft and clean and a choice of hard and soft pillows.

I didn’t hang around for breakfast had a quick coffee paid and was on my way too meet up with friends, the overall opinion is the small things matter to myself and this place really hits the nail on the head.

Thanks Lou and team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo

Eventful evening of laughter with good company – 5/5 Reviewed 15 May 2014

Actually stayed in Bourton on the Water but decided to walk into Stow for some good exercise but decided to stay for lunch but very good indeed, service was very good also the food was very good, highly recommended would visit again no problem.

Very Good – 5/5 Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

Fantastic two nights stay at The Kings arms! Facilities are great,we stayed at the ‘Best Mate’ cottage,which accommodated us and our baby Daughter admirably! The pub is quaint and the restaurant quirky and contemporary. Food was lovely and the Staff obliging!

We will be back!!!

5/5 Stayed April 2014, travelled with family